studio saturday again

ImageOkay, I did make some progress since last week, although it’s not the sort of dramatic progress that people shriek at on reality tv- such as “oh my god, you demolished my house and replaced it with a giant igloo! wow!!!” It’s more skeleton progress, things to build on. Not that you should build on skeletons. Didn’t any of you guys see Poltergeist? I guess I am thinking more of an underlying structure. 

This week I have been working on getting a few different paintings going, and most of my progress has been made on the small panels and paper pieces on wall 1. I did some underdrawings and began blocking in one piece on paper. The little bridge panel is giving me pains in the butt because I am revisiting a panel I gave up on a year ago and reworking it. I always think,” hey this will finish fast because it’s already started and underway!” But it’s like trying to squish your foot in a weirdly shaped shoe when you are working around old thoughts on a piece. Things never quite fit like you thought they would. And there’s a lot of unpleasant chafing. oh well. 

Image

 

wall 2, the only progress is that I rough sketched another small panel.

(and moved my lobster anomalies.)

Image

 

Wall three is looking all lonely and neglected this week. It looks exactly the same as last week, except that I think my tacked up paper rolls unraveled about a half an inch. Just think, at that rate the paper will flatten itself in 1.86 years. I did get the crate for the commission and so next week this wall will look different either which way any other progress goes. 

Image

Don’t wake up Wanda! Hopefully next week I will have a studio chock full of more progress to report. Until then!

Leave a Reply

