another piece in progress

It’s really difficult for me to get pictures of pre-painting drawings because I draw very lightly (so that it’s easier to erase later), and the lighting in my studio is not so great. I fiddled a great deal with photoshop contrast knobs and now at least  the drawing is clearer, although not so true to life since this is much darker than reality.  At any rate, here is one kind of early stage of my paintings- usually I start this way with paper. I find it easier to scrape paint off of panels, so I can start those much looser with paint.  (You can see some of that on the top of the panel in the last post) Although I like pinning down most of the particulars with these drawings,  I try not to get too carried away with detail since I’m painting over the drawing anyways. But I like to be able to identify each building, so it’s easier when I go back with paint.  This is about 5 1/2 ft across right now.

here’s a sort of detail.

 

Altering the contrast on this drawing makes me think of the many sad moments in the post photoshop world -where while staring blearily at your painting before you go to bed, you think for a minute: gah, I wish I could turn the contrast up or change the color with a few mouse clicks! 🙂

One comment

  1. The last sentence in your post rings true. As a longtime Photoshop user, I find myself reflexively reacting to blemishes I see in the real world with a mental click of the cloning tool. Sadly, it just doesn’t work in the real world.

Leave a Reply

